Cover of "My Name Is Bill W"

When Love Is Not Enough: The Lois Wilson Story Cover of My Name Is Bill W

We watched the movie My name is Bill W. Staring James Woods from 1989.  It made me ask the question, When did Lois start Al-Anon.  How was it started, did she have help?  They made a Movie a few years go, When Love Is Not Enough: The Lois Wilson Story.  I have not been able to find it on netflix so will just have to order the movie and get the Bill W one for my Husband.

I did some reaserch on Al-Anon and here is a little bit of what I found.

Al-Anon was formed in 1951 by Anne B. and Lois W., wife of Alcoholics Anonymous (AA) co-founder Bill W. They recognized the need for such an organization as family members living with AA members began to identify their own pathologies associated with their family members’ alcoholism. In the USA, Al-Anon Family Groups incorporated as a 501(c)(3) non-profit organization called Al-Anon Family Group Headquarters, Inc.  Alateen took its own name and formation in 1957.

After a while I began to wonder why I was not as happy as I ought to be, since the one thing I had been yearning for all my married life [Bill's sobriety] had come to pass. Then one Sunday, Bill asked me if I was ready to go to the meeting with him. To my own astonishment as well as his, I burst forth with “Damn your old meetings!” and threw a shoe as hard as I could. This surprising display of temper over nothing pulled me up short and made me start to analyze my own attitudes. … My life’s purpose of sobering up Bill, which had made me feel desperately needed, had vanished. … I decided to strive for my own spiritual growth. I used the same principles as he did to learn how to change my attitudes. … We began to learn that … the partner of the alcoholic also needed to live by a spiritual program. – “Lois’s Story” in How Al-Anon Works

 

I will have to do some more research into Lois – I love learning about history and how things were started.  I love watching those TV shows that show you how they make things, or how something was invented.  It amazes me.  as I learn more about her I will share with you.

 

If you have not seen My Name is Bill w – I highly recommend it.

Also there is a new Bill W movie out, for Those people who live in Arizona.  In Tucson there are showing the movie starting this Friday at the Loft. 

Visit the official movie website

I had never panicked before in the presence of alcohol … then I remembered that in trying to help other people it had helped me too. And for the first time I … said, “Geez, you need another alcoholic to talk to. You need a guy like that just as much as he needs you.” Then came a very strange chain of circumstances …

~ Bill Wilson