Last time I posted I said I felt empowered, yet I still believe I am powerless.

Definition of:

POWERLESS – 

1: devoid of strength or resources <powerless victims>

2: lacking the authority or capacity to act <was powerless to help>

Empowered

To equip or supply with an ability

So, am I Powerless over alcohol?  Yes!  Can I still feel empowered? Yes!

To me being empowered means that I have the ability to take on each day, one day at a time.  Some times its one hour at a time, or one minute at a time.   I find myself saying, “let go, let God” a lot.  I have to let go, have to realize that I don’t need all the answers, I don’t have to be right all the time and I don’t need to be in control of every one.  I can only control myself, my actions and my reactions.  I am still going to hurt, I am still going to get angry and I will still have alcohol try to work its way into my life. I take a piece of chalk and draw a circle on the ground then stand in that circle.  Now, what is in that circle I have control over, what is outside I do not and I shouldn’t try to.  All we can ask of our selves is to take control of us, that’s it.  I cannot control the sun, the moon, the stars…and we surely cannot control our alcoholic.  They need their own recovery plan with the 12 steps.  We cannot work it for them, we cannot make them and we cannot change them.  They must be willing to change themselves, seek help on their own and own up to their own addiction.  Its step one, I admitted I was powerless over alcohol.

