Acceptance – Taking The First Step In Your Addiction Recovery

This follows with what I was talking about – the first step – but in the words of an addict, the other side of the coin.  That’s what we have to remember – there are a few sides to this coin.  AA – NA – Al-Anon and Alateen.  We all have our stories and experiences and we can pull strength from each other.  I thought I would share another side of the coin.

We who are in recovery groups like AA, Al-Anon, Alateen and NA understand the power of the coin.  So that is why I speak of it often.  A coin, a chip or a medallion.  What ever you call it, it’s the symbol of our unity and our years of recovery.

My mother asks my husband “how long do you have to go to these meetings?”  umm, forever.  He will always be in recovery.  I will always be in recovery myself, and so I will also go to my meetings as much as I can.  Now that I am in program I could not picture life without it.

