My husband is taking a substance abuse class – and he seems to be getting a lot out of it.  It’s ran by a husband and wife team, and they seem very knowledgeable.  The man who runs the classes has been clean and sober for a long time now, so he knows what everyone is going through.  Its not just someone who is reading things from a book, it comes from real experience.

I had a Dr once who was trying to treat my migraines when she had never had one in her life.  Its hard to treat someone when you have no experience with it.  So I am thankful that he is getting help from someone who knows what they are talking about first hand not just from what they were told to talk about.  Everything I talk about here is something I have experienced.  I may not have had an addiction to drugs or alcohol, but I am a smoker who has tried to quit and have done so for small jaunts.  I have been working on cutting back and then plan to be smoke free here very soon.  So yes, I too suffer from an addiction an I watched a loved one suffer with alcohol addiction.  I have had a few friends who have drug problems, some have sought help, others choose to just live with the addiction.

All I can say is that I speak from the heart, I speak about what on my mind and I share these things with the hopes that maybe, just maybe I can reach someone.  The class that my husband is taking not only goes over the mental part of the drinking addiction, it also goes over what you do to your body and the long term effects.  He shares with me the things they go over in class and it makes me happy he can share it with me.  I have heard somethings I never knew, and heard somethings I had been trying to tell him.  It doesn’t bother me that he didn’t listen to me but listened to them, he wasn’t ready to hear what I had to say.  Now with his open mind, he is able to listen and take to heart the damage he was doing.

If you are interested in a class I am sure that either your local AA or NA group might have some information.  Also I find doing a google search for things does sometimes prove helpful.  You just have to be smart with your google searches and check out the information before getting your heart set on anything.

