Archive for January 13, 2012


Sobriety Counter

My husband has been sober for 209 Days and I am so proud!  I have been going to Al-Anon for 22 days.

If you would like to have some fun, please go to the link below and enter your sober date or Al-Anon date and lets see how long its been.  You can post the answer in the comments if you would like to or send it to chipinmyheart2011@gmail.com.  Remember to please note if you would like the email shared on here.

 

 

Sober Nation’s Sobriety Counter: Inspiration for Addiction and Recovery Support

For a while I felt like I had lost my husband.  I am not quite sure where he had gone, or exactly when I had lost him.  I kept searching and searching for my lost love, but he had been replaced by a man who looked just like my husband – but was not him in the slightest.  The longer I would look at him or hear his voice the more and more he started to seem like a stranger.  He really didn’t look like my husband after all.  He was angry all the time and had no laughter or love in his eyes.  He no longer sounded like my husband, all he did was yell and cuss and say nasty things.  I no longer cared if he spent almost all evening outside in his shop.  I would eat all my meals alone, I would watch TV and movies alone.  Sometimes I even fell asleep in an empty bed.  I would wake up in the middle of the night and find him passed out and snoring in my husband’s chair.

Every once in a while, my husband would show up.  He would laugh, smile, hug me and say he loved me.  I would have these glimmers of hope that maybe, just maybe he was coming back to me.  These glimpses of my husband, who was trapped inside the mind of this bully that was living in my home were getting shorter and shorter.  It was like there was this evil twin side to my husband and he was taking over.  Like a Dr Jekyll and Mr Hyde thing, the longer he drank the potion (beer) to become Mr Hyde, the longer and longer the effect would have.  I had feared that if too much time had passed that I might never see my Dr Jekyll (hubby) again.  The names he would call me, the things he would yell while we were having a fight were horrific.  I am not sure when I lost my spine, but the second he would start yelling, it would run away like a smacked dog, leaving my to stare at him with a blank look on my face.

I didn’t dare say anything that could set him off more, I never thought he would do anything to directly cause me harm, but he had admitted that when he got upset enough he would black out.  Most of the time after he got it all off his chest he would hold me and I would cry.  He would promise never to do it again and life went on very nice and happy for a while.  Last spring He broke his hand during a drunken moment of bad judgement.

For almost a month after that he had not touched a single drop of alcohol.  I was so proud, YES – see he can do this.  What I failed to see at that time was that he was taking the pain killers the Dr had giving him.  He didn’t need the alcohol, the pain killers were doing the trick of making him numb.  So when the pain meds ran out and the cast came off, he started to drink again.  But this time it was much slower and he was calmer about it.  I thought, ok see, no big deal.

To be continued….

Becky's Bad Dates....

Why Did I Shave My Legs For This?!?!

Inside Kel's Kitchen

Love to eat, love to cook, and trying to keep it healthy!

Holly Brockwell

Writer, founder, influencer

Hugh's Views & News

A man with dyslexia writing about this and that and everything else!

the harmonious two

stories & dreams from a couple of music lovers

kelsurfs

Please follow my actual food blog at https://insidekelskitchen.wordpress.com!

Logical Quotes

Logical and Inspirational quotes

songsfortheday

posting a song each day you should hear.

I Was A Foster Kid

About growing up in the foster care system

House of Kellen

Energy healing and Rune Reading

Homemade with Mess

who wants life to be tidy when you can have more fun making a mess??!

YARNutopia by Nadia Fuad

All things Yarn Related: Crochet, DIY, and Crafts

Chronic Pain Cockney - The Little Things

Living with Chronic (in fact, daily) Migraine, IIH & Chiari is tough. Sometimes I blog about it; other times I indulge my love of pretty things & review beauty products instead.

Sleeping Geeks

Sleep by Day - Geek by Night

random rants ruminations ramblings

different times, different thoughts

Crochet with Raymond

The mad adventures of a lesbi@n hooker and her siamese cat!

Ray Ferrer - Emotion on Canvas

** OFFICIAL Site of Artist Ray Ferrer **

Smart Discount Shop

Discover all the creative and ingenious ways to save money !