I hear everyone say this, and yes I am guilty of it myself.  But I hear so many people say “Things will get back to normal soon.”  Wait, what is normal, normal for who?  Cause my “normal” for the past few years has been a living nightmare, I don’t want to go back to that.  You know how I have started to look at it? Today is my new normal, till my next new normal.  I try really hard now not to say “normal”  cause I am not really even sure what that is anymore.  My normal is not your normal, and this normal that I am in right now is only good until my next normal.

My husband will ask me how I feel, so I will tell him my head hurts.  He turns to me and says “Normal then, huh?”  Yup, this has been my normal for many years.  Constant pain in my head that just builds and builds.  I am not happy with this normal, it’s not something I find joy in.  But it is a “normal” or natural state for me to be in.  I have a wonderful Dr now who is also a person who suffers from migraines so she understands.

You might ask yourself, how can I move past this part in my life, what will I do now?  You will find other things to take up your time. We have been working on our house, playing with the dogs, hubby has been messing with his cars and when we get a little lost – we go to a meeting.  Going to meetings helps so much, I could never understand that before.  I could not wrap my head around why my husband was going to more AA meetings that he was required to, till I went.  Now I fully understand the want or really the need to go.  I find myself getting back on track with each meeting, another one of my ducks falls back into line.  They had been running amok for quite some time.

So if you find yourself saying “back to normal” just remember, it’s just the next new normal.

nor·mal [ náwrm’l ]
  1. usual: conforming to the usual standard, type, or custom
  2. healthy: physically, mentally, and emotionally healthy
  3. occurring naturally: maintained or occurring in a natural state
