So, to honor my dear friend, I wish to comment on Step Two, which reads:

2. Came to believe that a power greater than ourselves could restore us to sanity.

The title for this entry I actually got from the daily reflections AA book I have.

…Step Two gently and very gradually began to infiltrate my life. I can’t say upon what occasion or upon what day I came to believe in a Power greater than myself, but I certainly have that belief now.” (Twelve Steps And Twelve Traditions pg. 27)

For me this was not a coming to believe or needing to learn to believe, but rather, to remember how God restored me to sanity back when I got clean in 2009. Each of our individual Higher Powers can and will “Restore” us to sanity.

I like how the word restore sounds, and certainly, I love what it means.

RESTORE:

verb (used with object), -stored, -stor·ing.

1. to bring back into existence, use, or the like; reestablish: torestore order.
2. to bring back to a former, original, or normal condition, as abuilding, statue, or painting.
3. to bring back to a state of health, soundness, or vigor.
4. to put back to a former place, or to a former position, rank,etc.: to restore the king to his throne.
5. to give back; make return or restitution of (anything takenaway or lost).
So for me I really needed to not just be restored to sanity, but find out how I lost it. In life we sometimes need to re-trace our steps to find what was lost, and in like manner we need to do so with addiction to anything. When I finally locked into where I lost my way, it came down to me forgetting to do some basic things that had gotten me on the road to sanity in the first place.
Things as simple as praying, studying scriptures (again, this was what worked for me), helping others continually and finally going to church. As soon as I stopped placing significant importance on those four things, I slowly but surely lost my way.
So, can we all be restored to some sense of sanity? You bet we can! God bless you all!
