I had no idea that withdrawal from alcohol could be this scary.  When my husband was going through it (I was already upset with him so might not have been as compassionate as I probably could have been) it seemed bad but I was not worried about him getting very sick.  Little did I know that alcohol withdrawal syndrome could very well be fatal.

Alcohol withdrawal syndrome is the set of symptoms seen when an individual reduces or stops alcohol consumption after prolonged periods of excessive alcohol intake. Excessive abuse of alcohol leads to tolerance, physical dependence, and an alcohol withdrawal syndrome. The withdrawal syndrome is largely due to the central nervous system being in a hyper-excitable state. Unlike most withdrawals from other drugs, alcohol withdrawal can be fatal. The withdrawal syndrome can include seizures and delirium tremens and may lead to excito-neurotoxicity.

I had two seizures caused by low blood sugar, but while i was going through all the tests to make sure there wasn’t an underlying issue the dr told me that drinking high amounts of alcohol might very well prevent a seizure.  But the next day as you are coming down off the alcohol it can cause a seizure.  He said that since we are a town with a large university, he sees a lot of younger adults who have alcohol related seizures.  So, I already knew that was a possibility.

Some of the symptoms of this withdrawal syndrome can last for up to a year, they call this post acute withdrawal syndrome.  Some of the symptoms of the withdrawal syndrome are:

Although this may seem scary, what you are doing to your body is even more scary than this.  If you have been drinking to the point of sever damage to your heath, you might need medical assistance during the time you are trying to sober up.  I am so very thankful that my Husband came through most of his withdrawal symptoms alright.  He was very sick for a while and had a problem keeping things down.  he was also very home sick as he was not living at our home during that time.  He is eating well again and doesn’t seem to show many signs of prolonged withdrawals.

If no one has told you they love you today, I love you and God does too!
