Gardens of Creebridge House Hotel Peace and tr...

Gardens of Creebridge House Hotel Peace and tranquility in Creebridge. (Photo credit: Wikipedia)

So Thursday night at the AA meeting they read the promises (my hubby read them as a matter of fact) and it was like hearing them for the first time.  I am still amazed by the things my brain picks up on when its ready. One of the promises was:

We will comprehend the word serenity and we will know peace.

Wow – I never thought of the true meaning of it, I say the prayer all the time, but never gave a second thought to what the written definition was.  So what is the official definition of serenity?

1. a disposition free from stress or emotion – steadiness of mind under stress; “he accepted their problems with composure and she with equanimity”

tranquility, placidity, tranquility, repose, quiet calm, calmness, composure, equanimity, ataraxis – peace of mind

2. the absence of mental stress or anxiety – ataraxis, peace of mind, peacefulness, repose, peace, hearts-ease, quietude, quietness, tranquility, tranquility – a state of peace and quiet

“what does it mean to you Court?”  Well that’s a good question, what does it mean to me?  Hmmm, well I know that at the end of the day, if I can say to myself that I did the best I can and I made amends right away if something happened.  It’s that spot in my mind that is peaceful and calm, where I can slip off to sleep and not regret the events of the day.

If no one has told you they love you today, I love you and God does too!

