“Life is short, and it’s up to you to make it sweet.” – Sadie Delany (American educator and civil rights pioneer)

Life is what you make it.  At our last meeting we were all handed a little red fuzzy ball.  There was a story we read that night about a lady who at her one year anniversary handed out red balls and a thank you note.  The red ball represented her serenity.   She went on in the note talking about how if she let others effect how happy or sad she was she was tossing her little red ball to them.  She was letter other take control of her serenity.

I used to lob that darn ball at people.  I would almost make them take it from me so I could balm them for my unhappiness.  Heck – I used to even say God must have just been mad at me or punishing me.  I was in a bad way.  It was just fitting that we read a story on a lady giving back the night of her one year while I was celebrating getting my one year coin that same night.  Granted it was a few weeks after my one year, but even still – things happen for a reason.

All of us in the meeting were playing with our little red fuzzy ball of serenity while we were reading the story – some were just holding it – others were petting it like it was alive.  It was neat to see how each person treated it a little different.  Here is a table full of adults and we were like little kids being handed a new toy.  We loved it and played with them – tossed them at each other (hehehehe) But we all had a very nice meeting and got a little keep sake to remind us that our serenity is our responsibility and our’s alone.

So remember don’t give anyone your little red ball!

If no one has told you they love you today, I love you and God does too!!

